Thursday, October 1, 2009

Don't let your Holloween candy spook you.

Did you know that many candy companies have an allergen page? I didn't, until I was reading "Gluten Free Is Life" and she was talking about it. After reading this it sparked an area of interest and I started looking into it. Here is some of the information that I have found.
Baby Ruth (Nestlé USA)
Gluten-free information on 6/6/2009 on the FAQ page of the Baby Ruth website (http://www.babyruth.com):

Question: Does Baby Ruth contain gluten?
Answer: “No, Baby Ruth does not contain gluten, however, due to formula changes and new product introductions, consumers should always read the ingredient statement on the wrapper for the most current information.”
Brach's (Farley's & Sathers Candy Company, Inc.)
Brach’s does not provide a list of their gluten-free products. To ask them whether a specific product is gluten-free call Farleys & Sathers Candy Company, Inc. Consumer Relations at 1-888-247-9855 (This is a toll free phone number.)

Farley's & Sathers Candy Company, Inc.
They do not provide lists of their gluten-free products. To ask them whether a specific product is gluten-free call Farleys & Sathers Candy Company, Inc. Consumer Relations at 1-888-247-9855 (This is a toll free phone number.) Their brands include:
Brach's®, Bobs®, Chuckles®, Farley's®, Fruit Stripe®, Heide®, Now And Later®, RainBlo®, Sathers®, Super Bubble®, Trolli®.




Tootsie Roll Industries, Inc.
Gluten-free information on 6/4/2009:
  • Andes Products: Andes Mints, Andes Baking Chips
  • Candy Carnival
  • Caramel Apple Pops
  • Cella Cherries
  • Charleston Chew
  • Charms Blow Pops
  • Charms Flat Pops
  • Child's Play
  • Cry Baby
  • Dots & Crows
  • Dubble Bubble: Twist Gum, Ball Gum, Candy, Specialty Gum
  • Fluffy Stuff
  • Frooties
  • Junior Mints
  • Nik-L-Nip
  • Razzles
  • Sugar Babies
  • Sugar Daddy
  • Tootsie Pops
  • Tootsie Roll
  • Wack-O-Wax
  • Zip-A-DEE Mini Pops
Gluten-free statement on the Company FAQ page on 6/04/2009 at the Tootsie Roll Industries website (www.tootsie.com):
Question: “Which of your products is gluten free?”
Answer:
“At this time, all of our confections are gluten free. We do not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt or any of their components and that includes our dusting on our conveyor belts. We do use corn and soy products in the manufacturing of our products.”
Gluten-free statement on the “Healthy Living” page under “Nutrition Labels and Allergen Information” on 6/04/2009 at the Tootsie Roll Industries website (www.tootsie.com):
“Tootsie provides the most accurate and updated ingredient statements for each of its products. Consult the Nutrition Chart for each product to determine whether a candy or gum fits into your dietary plan.
All Tootsie products are gluten-, peanut-, and nut product-free. Tootsie does not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt, or any of their components, either as ingredients or as part of the manufacturing process.
Corn and soy products are used during the manufacturing process.”

Wm. Wrigley Jr. Company
They do not provide a list of their gluten-free products. To ask which of their brands are gluten-free, call them toll free at 1-800-WRIGLEY. Wrigley brands include Juicy Fruit®, Wrigley's Spearmint®, Doublemint®, Skittles®, Life Savers®, Eclipse®, Winterfresh® and Altoids® .
Please note that Altoids Dark Chocolate Dipped Mints are NOT gluten-free and therefore Altoids Dark Chocolate Dipped Mints should be avoided on the gluten-free diet.



 Hershey's has an allergen page
Things that are gluten-free, verified recently (not miniatures):
  • Hershey’s Special Dark
  • Hershey’s Bars & Kisses
  • Reese’s PB Cups
The modified food starch that we use in our candies in corn starch.  We are in the process of updating our package labels to reflect products that are gluten free.  
Our gluten free brands are: 
MIKE AND IKE® Brand Candies
HOT TAMALES® Brand Candies 
PEEPS® Marshmallow Candies 
PEANUT CHEW® Brand candies 
TEENEE BEANEE® Jelly Beans 
JUST BORN® Jelly Bean. 


This information pertains to all Just Born candies that we make and package at our two manufacturing locations (Bethlehem, PA and Philadelphia, PA) and are in their original packaging. Please be aware that we do sell some of our products in bulk to other manufacturers who may be repackaging them in another facility.  We encourage consumers to read the labels carefully for any gluten information on products that might be packaged elsewhere.  For further questions, we recommend consumers call our Consumer Relations Team toll-free at 1-888-645-3453.


Q: My child has an intolerance to the gluten protein found in wheat. What products do NOT contain this ingredient?
A: Dum Dum Pops, Saf-T-Pops, Swirl Saf-T-Pops, Marshmallow Treats, Candy Canes, Cane Classics, Dum Dum Canes and Dum Dum Chewy Pops do not contain the gluten protein found in wheat, barley, rye, or oats.

So dig in this Halloween and don't let your candy spook you. Maybe now you have a better idea of what is safe for you or your kids to eat.

I had to post a new photo of Austin, here she is ready for her first Doctor's appointment at 12-days old. I'm sure there are more to come!

0 comments: